• Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
  • Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
  • Beijing University of Technology, China; National Sun Yat Sen University, Chinese Taipei
  • Title: Controlling of Nugget Microstructure in Resistance Spot Welding
  • Abstract:

    The present work theoretically and quantitatively investigates the factorsaffecting nugget microstructure in resistance spot welding. The factors include different working parameter, shapes of electrode containing a coolant hole, and material properties. Microstructure of the nugget in resistance spot weldingis a consequence of heat transfer or temperature gradient, and solidification rate. This model realistically accounts for transient magneto-fluid mechanics, heat and species transport, and bulk resistance in workpiece, and film and constriction resistances at contact interfaces. Since temperature gradient and solidification rate are realistically predicted, the computed morphological parameter shows that different microstructures of the weld nugget can be controlled via designing the shapes of the electrode containing coolant hole and choosing different working parameters and material properties.

    Co-Authors: Shujun Chen, Liwei Wang, Jun Xiao

  • Biography:
    Dr. Peng-Sheng Wei received Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering Department at University of California, Davis, in 1984. He has been a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering of National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, China, since 1989. Dr. Wei has contributed to advancing the understanding of and to the applications of electron and laser beam, plasma, and resistance welding through theoretical analyses coupled with verification experiments. Investigations also include studies of their thermal and fluid flow processes, and formations of the defects such as humping, rippling, spiking and porosity. Dr. Wei has published more than 80 journal papers. He is a Fellow of AWS (2007), and a Fellow of ASME (2000). He also received the Outstanding Research Achievement Awards from both the National Science Council (2004), and NSYSU (1991, 2001, 2004), the Outstanding Scholar Research Project Winner Award from National Science Council (2008), the Adams Memorial Membership Award from AWS (2008), the Warren F. Savage Memorial Award from AWS (2012), and the William Irrgang Memorial Award from AWS (2014). He has been the Xi-Wan Chair Professor of NSYSU since 2009, and Invited Distinguished Professor in the Beijing University of Technology, China, during 2015-2017.
Facebook   Twitter   Linkedin   Skype   Sina
Important Dates
October 23-25, 2015
Paper or Abstract Submission Due:
July 8, 2015  >> September 9, 2015
Early Bird Registration due for Accepted Paper or Abstract: 10 days after acceptance notification

Early Bird Registration due for Audience: July 15, 2015
Contact Us
Email: cet@engii.org
Tel : +86 - 186 2773 7240
  • Engii
  • OA Library
  • SRP
  • 1000Thinktank
  • 1000Thinktank
Media partners
  • 活动家

Past Conference: CET 2014
Past Proceedings: CET 2014
Copyright © 2015 Engineering Information Institute. All rights reserved.