Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
National Sun Yat-Sen University, Chinese Taipei
Title: Energy Generations due to Surface Plasmon
This study is to predict energy generations due to surface plasma excited by a pulsed laser in TM mode. The TM mode represents that magnetic field is perpendicular to the incident plane of electrical field. The surface plasma wave is an electromagnetic wave that propagates at the boundary between two media, leading to a distributed energy generation on the surface. This study numerically predicts transport processes in air, and materials, as well as energy generations resulting from electrical resistivity, dielectric and permeability effects. A systematical investigation of energy generations on micro-scaled components in various plasma processing and nanotechnology is therefore provided.
Dr. Peng-Sheng Wei received Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering Department at University of California, Davis, in 1984. He has been a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering of National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan (China), since 1989. Dr. Wei has contributed to advancing the understanding of and to the applications of electron and laser beam, plasma, and resistance welding through theoretical analyses coupled with verification experiments. Investigations also include studies of their thermal and fluid flow processes, and formations of the defects such as humping, rippling, spiking and porosity. Dr. Wei has published more than 80 journal papers, given keynote or invited speeches in international conferences more than 50 times. He is a Fellow of AWS (2007), and a Fellow of ASME (2000). He also received the Outstanding Research Achievement Awards from both the National Science Council (2004), and NSYSU (1991, 2001, 2004), the Outstanding Scholar Research Project Winner Award from National Science Council (2008), the Adams Memorial Membership Award from AWS (2008), the Warren F. Savage Memorial Award from AWS (2012), and the William Irrgang Memorial Award from AWS (2014). He has been the Xi-Wan Chair Professor of NSYSU since 2009, and Invited Distinguished Professor in the Beijing University of Technology, China, during 2015-2017.