Journal of Applied Mathematics and PhysicsJournal of Modern PhysicsOpen Journal of Marine ScienceSpectral Analysis Review

Hot Links >>


Conference >>


For Participants >>



Peng-Sheng Wei
Peng-Sheng Wei
National Sun Yat Sen University, Chinese Taipei
Transport Variables and Microstructure Variations Induced by Magnetohydrodynamic Convection during Resistance Spot Welding

Resistance spot welding is an important technique often used in joining thin workpieces. This presentation theoretically and quantitatively investigates and interprets the complicated processes by realistically accounting for transient magneto-fluid mechanics, heat and species transport, and bulk resistance in workpiece, and film and constriction resistances at contact interfaces. This study shows distributions of electric current, magnetic field, temperature, velocity, and species during resistance spot welding. Since temperature gradient and solidification rate are predicted, the computed morphological parameter reflecting constitutional super cooling shows that different microstructures of the weld nugget can be controlled via designing the shapes of the electrode containing coolant hole and choosing different material properties.

Dr. Peng-Sheng Wei received Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering Department at University of California, Davis, in 1984. He has been a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering of National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, China, since 1989. Dr. Wei has contributed to advancing the understanding of and to the applications of electron and laser beam, plasma, and resistance welding through theoretical analyses coupled with verification experiments. Investigations also include studies of their thermal and fluid flow processes, and formations of the defects such as humping, rippling, spiking and porosity. Dr. Wei has published more than 80 journal papers, given keynote or invited speeches in international conferences more than 60 times. He is a Fellow of AWS (2007), and a Fellow of ASME (2000). He also received the Outstanding Research Achievement Awards from both the National Science Council (2004), and NSYSU (1991, 2001, 2004), the Outstanding Scholar Research Project Winner Award from National Science Council (2008), the Adams Memorial Membership Award from AWS (2008), the Warren F. Savage Memorial Award from AWS (2012), and the William Irrgang Memorial Award from AWS (2014). He has been the Xi-Wan Chair Professor of NSYSU since 2009, and Invited Distinguished Professor in the Beijing University of Technology, China, during 2015-2017.
Home | About Engii | Contact Us
Copyright © 2007 - 2017 Engineering Information Institute. All rights reserved.