• Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
  • Prof. Peng-Sheng Wei
  • National Sun Yat-Sen University, Chinese Taipei
  • Title: Effects of Solute Gas Transport on Controlling Pore Shapein Solid
  • Abstract:
    Porosity is one of the most serious problems commonly occurring in weldments. In order to remove and control porosity, understanding its formation is important. A pore formed in solid is a consequence of a bubble nucleated by supersaturation and entrapped by a solidification front. By accounting for transport of mass, momentum and physico-chemical equilibrium of solute gas across the bubble cap, it is found that pore formation can be categorized into three cases due to different mechanisms responsible for directions of solute gas transport. Different directions of solute gas transport influence the variations of gas pressure in the pore and its pore shape with time in order to satisfy balances of pressures, physic-chemical equilibrium at the top cap, and the equation of state in the pore. This study has provided an exploratory and general analysis for controlling pore formation in solids.
  • Biography:
    Dr. Peng-Sheng Wei received Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering Department at University of California, Davis, in 1984. He has been a professor in the Department of Mechanical and Electro-Mechanical Engineering of National Sun Yat-Sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan, since 1989.Dr. Wei has contributed to advancing the understanding of and to the applications of electron and laser beam, plasma, and resistance welding through theoretical analyses coupled with verification experiments. Investigations also include studies of their thermal and fluid flow processes, and formations of the defects such as humping, rippling, spiking and porosity. Dr. Wei has published more than 80 journal papers. He is a Fellow of AWS (2007), and a Fellow of ASME (2000). He also received the Outstanding Research Achievement Awards from both the National Science Council (2004), and NSYSU (1991, 2001, 2004), the Outstanding Scholar Research Project Winner Award from National Science Council (2008), the Adams Memorial Membership Award from AWS (2008), the Warren F. Savage Memorial Award from AWS (2012), and the William Irrgang Memorial Award from AWS (2014). He has been the Xi-Wan Chair Professor of NSYSU since 2009, andInvited Distinguished Professor in the Beijing University of Technology, China,during 2015-2017.
Important Dates
October 21-23, 2016
Paper or Abstract Submission Due:
June 2, 2016  >> September 1, 2016
Contact Us
Email: cet@engii.org
Tel : +86 - 186 2773 7240
QQ : 58329403
  • Engii
  • OA Library
  • SRP
  • 1000Thinktank
Copyright © 2016 Engineering Information Institute. All rights reserved.